Welcome to Simple Solutions!

Thank you for joining me here at simple solutions for the home!  I am excited to begin this blogging journey with you.  Let me briefly introduce myself and tell you a little about my story so that you can catch a glimpse of what my vision is for this blog and why I decided to start it.

I’m Heather; I’m a wife and mother of three little boys (2, 4, and 6 years old).  My husband and I met when we were in college.  We were racquetball buddies, dated for 2.5 years, and then married.  I went on to graduate school, studying chemistry while he worked at a TV station.  I have also always loved to do crafty, creative, and artistic things…love, love, loved them!  The chemist side of myself and the artistic side of myself were jealous of each other during graduate school.  The artistic side wanted all the time and devotion I was offering the chemist side.  And, the chemist side wanted the passion with which I pursued the arts.  A few years into graduate school, I learned to be me and to apply my artistic passion to my scientific challenges.  I can be creative and a scientist.  I can be organized AND artistic.  I am best when I am me.

After graduating with a Ph.D. in chemistry, we relocated to the Washington D.C. area where I did contract work for the government and my husband did freelance video work (mostly for the government, too).  My first few weeks at my new job were rough, very rough.  But, I rationalized that your first few weeks in any new place are.  A few rough weeks turned into a few rough months.  And, one night, I found myself on the phone with my mother complaining about everything from my job to my constant stomach ache, even with a decent diet, to my constant fatigue, even on a full night’s sleep.  And, she, very matter-of-factly, asked if I was pregnant.  I quickly dismissed her and hung up, frustrated.  Within minutes, I had a change of heart and went to buy a pregnancy test.  My mother was right, I was pregnant, surprised, and happy.  When I was little, I dreamed of having a family and having the privilege of staying at home to raise my children.  I’m so thankful that we were able to make that possible.  It was a rough transition to go from school with a brief (one-year) stop in the workforce to motherhood.  They are all very different worlds, all tough in their own ways and with their own challenges.  Thankfully, we received lots of wise advice and encouragement to help us make the right decision for our family.  And, I am so thankful because I know that I have never been happier than I am in this stage of life.

So, here at Simple Solutions, I’m going to post some of the simple solutions I have worked out in my life as a person, wife, mother, housekeeper, artist, scientist, cook, gardener, teacher, seamstress…  Some will be, just that, solutions (homemade cleaning solutions or cooking/baking recipes).  Some will be “solutions” in the form of solving a problem (like how to get dinner on the table while everyone in the house seems to need your attention or how to organize files so that you can actually find what you’re looking for).  Others will be far less pressing, but ever-so-fun artistic “solutions” (like how to beautifully displaying your children’s artwork or keep the colored pencils from rolling off of the table, again).  So, if any or all of that sounds fun to you, I hope that you will check back in to see what I’m up to.  I would love to have you join me!

Sincerely,

Heather

Image

9 thoughts on “Welcome to Simple Solutions!

  1. Heather, I’m excited to follow your blog since I am also starting my journey as a stay at home mom. BTW…I didn’t know you had your PH.D! Awesome!

  2. Yay, Carolyn! I’m so happy for you! I say it all the time (including in this post) and mean it…I have truly never been happier in my life than I am right now, at home taking care of my family full time…I have also never been more challenged, inspired, divided, complete…the list goes on. But, I LOVE it, I really do! And, yes, the Ph.D. taught me chemistry, but also how to think about a problem in a lot of different ways, a skill which I use hourly. 🙂

  3. Heather! I am so excited about your blog. What a great idea…and you are definitely the woman for the job!

Leave a Reply

