DIY Foaming Hand Soap

This is the last post in my cleaning series…for a while, at least.  As I promised in an earlier post, my next series will be on a completely different topic.  Drum-roll please.  It’s going to be on fun crafts for kids!  I’m so excited.  I have a few really fun things to show you in that series.  But, for now, the last post in my cleaning series is about making your own foaming hand soap.

I have three little boys who use A LOT of soap.  Needless to say, discovering this recipe really helped my budget!  The beauty of this recipe is that you tailor the recipe to your individual needs/preferences…use a dish-washing soap with your (or your children’s) favorite essential oils, use the least expensive soap (if budget is a big concern), use an antibacterial formulation (if your husband is a plumber), and/or use it in the bathtub if your kids tend to dump the whole bottle of soap/shampoo in the bathtub when you’re not looking (I’m sure it’s no surprise that I’m speaking from experience here).  Anyway, I’m sure you get the point.  What I love most about this recipe is that you can be creative and have fun…and that it’s SOOO easy!

Ingredients

2 tablespoons (1 fluid ounce) dish-washing soap or hand soap

1 cup (8 ounces) water

essential oil (optional)

Preparation and Use

Place the dish-washing (or hand) soap in a foaming soap dispenser.  Then, add the water (and oils, if using) to the dispenser.  Tip:  when adding the water to the soap, pour it slowly down the side of the dispenser to keep the soap from making lots of bubbles.  Swirl all the ingredients together until well combined.

Science

If you’ve been reading my cleaning series, I know you have this memorized by now, but, in the event that you’ve missed the other posts.  I want to make sure you to know that…  Soap traps and suspends dirt, grease and oils inside the soap molecules during washing, allowing the dirt, grease and oils to be rinsed away.  The soap that goes down the drain during washing is bio-degradable.  Soaps have an alkaline pH (between 9 and 10), which increases its cleansing power as well as providing antimicrobial properties.  True soaps can be solid or liquid and are made from animal or vegetable based fats and lye.

Budget

The cheapest “all natural” foaming hand soap I could find at my local X-Mart was Method and costs $2.50 for 10 ounces.  The foaming hand soap recipe presented here costs about $2.50 for 306 ounces ($0.08 for 10 ounces).  And, yes, I checked and double-checked and triple-checked…this is NOT a miscalculation!  The savings on this recipe is huge, particularly if you have small children!  I have a feeling some of you may be skeptical, so let me elaborate on the math here.  A 10 ounce container of Method brand foaming hand soap costs $2.50.  An 18 ounce container of Method brand dishwashing soap also costs $2.50, but can be used to make 288 ounces of foaming hand soap (18 ounces of dishwashing soap + 288 ounces of water = 306 ounces of foaming hand soap…this is the recipe above multiplied by 36).  At our current rate of soap usage, 306 ounces of foaming hand soap will last our family of five well over two years (even with a few batches getting emptied into the sink by curious little boys)!

Leave a Reply

