Gifts Ideas for Kids

I have a few fun projects and ideas lined up for you for the next few weeks as we talk about something very near and dear to my heart…having fun with kids!  Whether they are your own or borrowed from someone else for a while, there is nothing quite like spending time with a child over a fun project or carefully selected gift.

“Children are a blessing and a gift from the Lord.”  Psalm 127:3

Today, I’m going to talk to you about a few of our family’s favorite gifts to give.  Let me preface this by saying that, generally speaking, I don’t like buying toys as gifts.  I think we have too many and that many other children we know also have too many.  I’m not against toys.  We have them.  My children love them and have fun with them and play with them.  I am simply in search of something a little more stimulating, more educational or artistic, more exploratory for my kids and for other kids.  Can you relate?

So, for older children, I prefer to buy or make something educational or crafty.

For a child who loves to read, we will often buy some of our favorite books, or one of favorite collections of books (like “The 20th Century Children’s Book Treasury”).

For a child who loves science and exploring, my mom and I put together a fun collection of gifts that included a magnifying glass, a headlamp, specimen jars, a small shovel, tweezers, and a carrying bag.  You could also include things like magnets, a compass, a tape measure, and/or a notebook in a gift like this.

For a child who loves art, I recently gave out the art folder, colored pencils, and drawing pad shown in the pictures below.  You can substitute other art supplies into this gift, too, such as coloring books, How to Draw 101 Animals, paint, markers, crayons, oil pastels, pastels, etc. to tailor the gift to the age and interests of the child receiving the gift.  Spoiler alert:  I’m going to show you how to make this art folder in a few days!  Models (cars, airplanes, etc.) would also be a fun gift for a child who likes art and building.

Some of our other favorite gifts for older children are games, puzzles, scooters, ride-on toys, etc.

And, for younger children, I prefer to buy a few items from an ongoing list of products we call “a few of our favorite things.”  I just put together a fun gift for some new parents, which included our favorite NO LEAK sippy cups, snack catchers, some aprons for having some messy fun, and some hooded animal towels/wash cloths for having some clean fun.  As you can see, I arranged the gift in a shoe box-sized Sterilite container (which, in my opinion, you can never have too many of when you have kids).

A few of our other favorite things for younger children are a Constellation Night Light, Halo sleep sacks, books by Dr. Seuss, books by Sandra Boynton, bubbles and bubble wands, sand and sand molds/funnels/shovels/buckets, bath tub toys, etc.  See, I just said I do like buying bath tub toys.  😉  In particular, we like basketball for the bath tub, boats, and lots of different kinds of sea animals.  I hope this post has given you some inspiration for your next gift purchase for a child!  And, I’d love to hear your ideas!  What are some of your favorite gifts to give children?

“God has also given each of us different gifts to use…If we can serve others, we should serve. If we can teach, we should teach. If we can encourage others, we should encourage them. If we can give, we should be generous. If we are leaders, we should do our best. If we are good to others, we should do it cheerfully.”  Romans 12:6-8

Leave a Reply

