Maple Pecan Granola

The other flavor I often crave in the fall is maple.  Growing up in the Midwest, I learned that there is NO SUBSTITUTE for good, maple syrup.  In fact, two years ago, my aunt and uncle, knowing this about me, bought me a gallon of Midwestern maple syrup for Christmas.  I almost kissed them.  🙂  And, then, I struggled to make it last for 6 months.

I created this recipe as I became conscious of sweetening our food with natural (and not artificial) sugars.  The first batch turned out so good that I hid it, so I could eat it all myself!  These days, I just double the batch, so I can share.  🙂  We like to eat this simply with milk and fruit (fresh berries, bananas, etc.).  We also like to eat it parfait style, layering vanilla yogurt, berries, and granola in parfait glass.

Maple Almond Granola

Ingredients

1 cup grape seed oil (canola works, too, but isn’t as healthy)

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup maple syrup

2 Tbsp. vanilla extract

2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

1 tsp. ground fenugreek

1 tsp. salt

8 cups oats

1 cup pecans

Preparation

Whisk together the oil, honey, maple syrup, vanilla, and spices until well combined.  Then, stir in the oats and pecans until well coated.  Spread the mixture evenly onto a baking sheet and bake at 375 degrees for 20-30 minutes until golden brown.  Cool completely and store in an airtight container for up to one month.

Maple Granola Variation: If some members of your family like nuts and others don’t, you can omit the nuts when you bake the granola and toast them separately.  Then, for nut-lovers, you can add them in just before serving.  And, for non-nut lovers, the main batch of granola is nut free.

Maple Almond Granola Variation:  You can also substitute almonds for the pecans in the recipe to make maple almond granola.

One thought on “Maple Pecan Granola

Leave a Reply

