Healthy Choices all around

I love the way that this time of the year prompts many of us to evaluate our goals, priorities, motives, etc. and encourages us to make a few changes for a healthier, more balanced lifestyle.  I realize that many of these decisions focus on diet and exercise, so I didn’t want to be redundant and focus on those today.  And, I know I post a lot of recipes and DIY projects on my blog, but I want to let you know that I do not make all the products we use in our house.  😉  However, I do research pretty much everything that enters our house by reading labels, looking up ingredients that I’m not familiar with, understanding their benefits/risks, etc.  So, today, for those of you thinking about or looking to chose some more natural “beauty” products, I wanted to make a list of my favorite natural everyday products in the health and beauty department.  Many of these products can be found in health food stores (if you have access to one).  However, many of them may also be found on vitacost.com (which many of my links here will lead you to) at a much better price than you’ll probably be able to find locally.

fbp

Shampoo: Still in search of one I love, but, so far, Avalon Organics Lavender Shampoo and Kiss My Face Whenever Shampoo, Green Tea & Lime have worked okay for my “normal” hair.

Conditioner:  Again, still in search of one I love, but, so far, Avalon Organics Nourishing Conditioner, Lavender and Kiss My Face Whenever Conditioner have worked okay for my “normal” hair.

*Note:  I’m not sure which one I’ll try next, but I know I don’t care for the “Nature’s Gate” formulation.  It makes my hair too heavy/greasy.  I may try one the fabulously fragranced Organix options next time, but they do contain disodium laureth sulfosuccinate, which I’m not sure I’m comfortable with yet.  So, I’m still not sure.  Recommendations welcome!

Styling Products: OGX Weightless Mousse (I use this to protect my hair before blow drying.)

Bar Soap (for shower): Kirk’s Castile Soap for the boys and Aromas Artesanales de Antigua (available at World Market) for me

*Note:  I buy Frangrance Free Kirk’s Castile Soap for the boys.  And, my favorite fragrances of AAA for myself are “Mandarin & Bergamot” and “Fig & Pear.”  I’m normally pretty frugal about many of the things we buy.  But, these soaps are so amazing in fragrance and function that they are one of my indulgences.  And, since, they’re triple milled, they last a lot longer than the average bar soap.

Liquid Soap (for shower):  Dr. Woods’s Shea Vision  (I link here to the “baby” fragrance, but there are other fragrances available.)

Lotion: Hard Lotion Bar (I make my own and will show you how to next week!  If can’t wait and want to search around on the site I link to here, you can find a video tutorial of how to DIY.)

Deodorant: Jason’s Tea Tree Deodorant

*Note: I really want to like the Crystal Body Deodorant Stick from the simple foundational standpoint that it’s a salt stick that is supposed to eliminate body odor and last a long time.  However, I have not gotten great results yet.  Maybe, it’s because I’m pregnant and my body runs a little warmer than usual?  I plan to try it again after the baby comes and give it another shot.

Toothpaste for Adults: Spry Xylitol Peppermint Toothpaste

Toothpaste or Kids:  Jason Kids Only Strawberry Toothpaste

*Note:  The Spry Xylitol Peppermint Toothpaste is also safe for kids since it does not contain fluoride.  However, not all my kids like the mint flavor yet, so we often buy the Jason Kid’s Only (available in strawberry or orange flavor) or the Nature’s Gate (available in cherry flavor).  Xlear also makes kid’s toothpaste in strawberry banana and bubble gum flavors; however, since we’ve had such good experiences with the other two I mentioned, we’ve never tried this one (although I would love to).

Sunscreen: Avalon Organics baby Natural Mineral Sunscreen SPF 18 (and I just started experimenting with making my own…)

Bug Spray: All Terrain Kids Herbal Armor DEET-Free Natural Insect Repellent Spray

Diapers:  I mostly use cloth diapers (bumGenius 4.0’s).  If you need to get a better price on these, the Cotton Babies website often has some in their “Seconds” category.  And, the Diaper Swappers website or eBay are other good places to shop for them.

Baby Wipes:  Huggies Natural Care Baby Wipes

We’re rather basic in the beauty department around here.  For several reasons, but foremost of which is that true beauty comes from within!  So, that pretty much emptied my bathroom cabinets.   I would love to hear what your favorite natural products are!

Leave a Reply

