Quick, Easy, and Adorable Kid’s Valentine’s Day Cards

GRANDPARENT SPOILER ALERT:  To all the grandparents of my children who read this blog, you may be getting one of the cards described in this message in the mail soon.  If you would like to be surprised, you may want to wait until after Valentine’s Day to read this post.  😉

This afternoon, I was inspired by my beloved, Pinterest, to make these Valentine’s with my kids.  Setup, project, and cleanup literally took less than an hour.  They turned out so cute and the boys had so much fun making them (or anytime we get out paint of any kind for that matter!).  So, without further delay, here’s how we did it:

Heart Handprint (Valentine or Anytime) Cards

Materials

Cardstock, cut to 8 1/2 x 5 1/2″ and folded in half (to make a card sized 4 1/2 x 5 1/2″)

Invitation Envelopes, size 4 3/8 x 5 3/4″

Tempera or Acrylic Craft Paint

Paint Brush (optional)

Marker

Process

I cut and folded the cardstock in advance and had it ready for our card-making time.

VDC_01

Then, I brushed the boys right hands with pink paint, aligned the card in front of them upside down with the crease to the right, and stamped the hand print.  I repeated with all of the cards and then moved to the left hand.  I brushed the boys left hands with red paint, with the card still aligned in front of them upside down with the crease to the right, and stamped the second (red) handprint just to the left of the first (pink) handprint as shown below.  I repeated with all of the cards and had the boys wash their hands.  Simple as that and the boys parts were done!

VDC_02

Once the paint dried, I turned the card right-side-up with the crease to the left and drew a heart around the handprints.

VDC_02b

It’s optional, of course, but I thought it was cute to write their name and age at the bottom, too.

VDC_03

I paired each card with an envelope and now we have lots of cute Valentine’s to send out to loved ones!

VDC_04

I hope you and your loved ones enjoy this project as much as we did!  I would love to hear your experiences.  If you decide to make it your own and modify it, I would also love to hear your ideas for that!

2 thoughts on “Quick, Easy, and Adorable Kid’s Valentine’s Day Cards

Leave a Reply

