Let’s Organize!

I don’t know about you, but I’m still in a “spring cleaning” cleaning, organizing, make-a-list-and-check-things-off kind of a mood.  So, I thought I would share with you a simple, inexpensive idea I came up with a few years ago for organizing my spices and baking supplies.  Of course, the applicability of my idea to your situation will vary by how many spices you use and how much space you have in your kitchen.  The fact that spice jars vary so much in size and orientation REALLY used to bother me (tall jars, short jars, small bags, big bags, etc.).  When I was using average spice jars, it also used to bother me that the typical spice jar was not large enough to hold all of the spices from the jars or bags I bought from the grocery, leaving me with a filled spice jar and a partially filled jar/bag from the grocery.  Aghhh!  I know this is really uptight, but, in any case, it turns out that the drawers I use for spices and baking supplies were the perfect size for canning jars (which are so much larger, accommodating an entire jar of spices, AND they are less expensive than typical spice jars)!  So, I made the switch and this is how it turned out:

This is my top drawer where I store baking soda, baking powder, arrowroot/cornstarch, cocoa powder, popcorn kernels, etc. in pint sized mason jars turned on their sides.

KO_03

These are the middle two drawers where I store my spices in half-pint mason jars (aka “jelly” jars).  Note that jelly jars range in size from 4 to 8.5 ounces, so if the 8 oz. variety is too tall for you, the 4 oz. size may work better, or vice versa.

KO_05 KO_04

This is the bottom drawer where I store dried beans and lentils.  Occasionally, I also store rice and grains here, too.

KO_01

Happy spring cleaning…and organizing!  🙂

Leave a Reply

