Miss Money Bags Yoga Mat Bag Review

Exercise

As I continue to have health and wellness on my mind, and strive to find more ways to refresh my heart, mind, and body, I can’t help but think of the balance exercise have given me.  The benefits of exercise are well documented.  Personally, I love the way exercising can wake my mind and body up in the morning and help me be more productive as I start my day.  I love the way it challenges my mind and body to try new things, go farther, deeper, and, perhaps, faster, but always to become better at whatever exercise I choose.  I love the way exercising can refresh my body in the afternoon if I choose it over a nap.  And, I love the way gentle exercising can calm my heart and mind and wind down my body at the end of the day.  Now, don’t get me wrong I do not exercise 3 times a day, but I do have 4 children, so if I don’t get up at 5 or 6 a.m. to get my workout in first thing in the morning, it’s good to have some other options (besides, sometimes my children need the workout in the afternoon or evening, too)!

When it comes to exercise, I believe everyone is different.  Some people like to stick with the same exercise and just keep getting better and better at it.  Some people like to change it up frequently.  I’d encourage you to find what works best for you and stick with that.  I honestly believe that sets us up for the most success in our exercise programs.  Just like I like to do lots of different types of crafts, I like to exercise in lots of different ways, too.  When I exercise with my kids, we often go on walks, hikes, bike rides, or play ball in the yard.  I also run sometimes if I need to exercise with my kids; my older kids ride their bikes and I push the younger ones in a jogging stroller.  When I’m pressed for time and want to exercise alone (or my husband randomly signs me up for a 5K), running is also a good way for me to get my heart rate up, burn calories, and get a workout in in a relatively short period of time.  Though it’s not my favorite form of exercise, it works well when I have other things such as time and kids and upcoming races to consider.  Personally, I also really enjoy dancing, either traditional ballet or some cardio-form of it are fun for me.

A Few Brief Words on Yoga

This past year, I’ve added a new form of exercise to my routine – yoga.  I’ve fallen in love with yoga.  I’ve always been really coordinated, but it wasn’t until I started doing power yoga that I realized I could get my heart rate up as well as challenge my posture and balance and try new things all in the same workout.  An exhaustive list of the health benefits of yoga is outlined by the Yoga Journal here.  Another reason I love yoga is that there are so many varieties of classes and DVDs as well as skill levels offered that anyone, couch potato or athlete, can start anytime.  I also love that I can do yoga at home (and with my kids) since it’s hard for me to get away sometimes.  And, I love that yoga challenges my mind and my body; though I always work hard during my workouts, after yoga, I feel fulfilled and energized and not exhausted when I’m done.  Since I can use all the energy I can get these days, words don’t adequately express how much I love that!  I also love that I can do yoga with minimal gear: a towel, a yoga mat, and a yoga mat bag.

My Yoga Mat and Bag

Not all yoga mats are created equal.  When I started doing yoga a year ago, I was using a very thin and inexpensive yoga mat, which was quite small, but I was determined to use until I knew whether or not I was going to stick with yoga or not.  When I realized that I had fallen in love with yoga and was committed to it for the long haul, I asked for the very durable Manduka Black Mat PRO for my birthday, which is 71″ x 26″ x 0.25″ and weighs 7 pounds.  It’s long, thick, and heavy compared to the thin, inexpensive version I began with and those that you see in most stores and gyms.  It’s also very expensive as you’ll see if you click through the link above, so needless to say it’s one of the few things in my house solely for my use that I don’t want my kids playing with (I do let them use the inexpensive mat I began with though).  To keep the temptation to play with my yoga mat at bay, I store my yoga mat in a Miss Money Bags waxed canvas yoga mat bag.  I also use my yoga mat bag for traveling to the gym, so I can have a wonderful mat with my own germs and not someone else’s germs to practice on.  In addition to its utility, I also love this yoga mat bag for the beauty, craftsmanship, and luxury of it.

Miss Money Bags Yoga Mat Bag Review

The Miss Money Bags waxed canvas yoga mat bag is beautiful.  In appearance and in quality, this bag is strikingly beautiful.  The body and strap of this bag are made of waxed canvas, which is water resistant and durable.  The body comes in various earthy colors and measures 30″ long,  5″ around.

YB_closed_upward

The outside of the strap matches the body of the bag and the underside of the strap is one of various beautiful ethnic tribal fabrics and measures 35″.

YB_upward_tribal

The ends of the bag are made of thick, soft brown leather imprinted with the Kith & Kin logo of their family’s shop.

YB_closed_logo

The Miss Money Bags waxed canvas yoga mat bag is functional.  It is spacious, but bulky.  The bag is roomy enough to fit my yoga mat, a yoga mat towel, a hand towel, my wallet, phone, and/or a water bottle!  Note, the dimensions of my yoga mat are 71″ x 26″ x 0.25″ and the Miss Money Bags waxed canvas yoga mat bag fits it perfectly.  If you have a yoga mat that’s longer than 71″, contact the shop owner, Sarah Clark, at the Miss Money Bags Store on Etsy using the link on the left side of the page and request a special order yoga mat bag large enough to accommodate a longer length.  A heavy duty zipper runs the length of the bag and allows me to get my yoga mat, accessories, and personal necessities into and out of the bag easily.  I personally think it’s much easier to use than the previous bag I had where I loaded the yoga mat and everything else from the top.  All the seams of the bag are taped/reinforced to stand up to repeated use.

YB_empty open

YB_open

The Miss Money Bags waxed canvas yoga mat bag is a luxury to me – just like yoga itself.  In the hustle and bustle of this world, I love how yoga slows me down and helps me see my life, my body, and my surroundings more clearly.    I also love how this bag, a work of art and craftsmanship, helps me appreciate the beauty, love, and care I see in the things around me.

YB_On_Side_Bottom

If you’re a yogi, looking for a place to store your gear or upgrade it, you won’t be disappointed.  If you’re not a yogi, you can still check out the Miss Money Bags Store on Etsy where she sells lots of other high quality bags and accessories, including her innovative cash envelope walletsbifold wallets, kid’s wallets, key straps, essential oil pouches, waxed canvas Dopp kits (aka toiletries bags), and, of course, the waxed canvas yoga mat bags I’ve reviewed here.  You can also check out Kith & Kin where Miss Money Bags sells waxed canvas weekend bags, totes, and tool bags.  Lastly, you can follow Miss Money Bags on Facebook to be alerted of current and upcoming sales, and specials as well as new product offerings.

Leave a Reply

