Deep Moisturizing Lotion

My next blog series is going to highlight some of the homemade beauty recipes I love, use, and why.  I never would have thought that I would make almost all my own beauty products, but now I do and love them more than anything I’ve found commercially.  Plus, I know they’re healthy for me.  I hope that you enjoy them as much as I do!
When I first found this recipe, it was titled as a facial moisturizer, but I found it to be WAY too greasy for my face.  So, to use it up, I started using it on other dry skin patches and fell in love with its intense moisturizing ability.  I love the way some great discoveries are made by accident or out of what some would consider a failure.  A while ago, I shared with you a lotion bar recipe.  I love the simplicity, versatility, and ease of using the lotion bar.  It’s my husband and children’s go-to lotion when their skin is dry and cracked.  However, sometimes I want something a little more moisturizing and softer in texture; in those times, I turn to this deep moisturizing lotion.
Ingredients 

5 ounces Unrefined Raw Shea Butter

2 ounces Coconut Oil

1.6 ounces Beeswax Pellets

1 ounce Grapeseed or Almond Oil

20 drops Grapefruit Essential Oil (optional)

2 drops Lavender Essential Oil (optional)

Preparation and Use

1.  Measure each of the ingredients into a sauce pan.  I usually place my saucepan directly on a kitchen scale to make the weighing/measuring easier.

lb_01lb_03

2.  Heat the mixture over LOW heat just until the beeswax melts.  Refrain from heating on high or overheating as this will cause your shea butter to become grainy.  It won’t hurt the lotion, but the lotion simply won’t be as smooth.

lb_04lb_05

3.  Turn off the heat and add essential oils if desired.  In the recipe, I highlighted the essential oils I normally use in my lotion, but if you like different scents in your lotion then use what you like.  The ratio of oil:lotion I usually use is 10 drops of essential oil per 2 ounces of lotion.

lb_05b

4.  Carefully, pour the warm/hot liquid into a container.  I like to use Ball 4 ounce Jelly Jars. because I believe they’re a perfect size for scooping out the lotion without being too cumbersome.  As you can see, I replace the lid with a mayonnaise jar lid so I don’t have the hassle of of a band and ring every time I’m getting my lotion out, but you can use what’s easiest for you.

Moisturizer 2b

5.  Allow the lotion to cool completely before placing the lid on the container.

Moisturizer 2a

6.  Clean your dishes with hot, soapy water.

Science

Coconut Oil is an edible oil extracted from the kernel or meat of matured coconuts harvested from the coconut palm.  Coconut oil is easily absorbed into the skin owing to its small molecular structure.  Coconut oil aids in the removal of dead skin, revealing the smooth, youthful surface beneath and providing instant relief for chapped skin.  Coconut oil also provides long-term healing properties to connective tissue cellular structure by providing it with nutrients and antioxidants, leaving your skin smooth and radiant.  Coconut oil is composed of triglycerides that, when applied to the skin, convert to antimicrobial-free fatty acids which bolster infection-fighting abilities.  All that, and it’s pure and free of harsh chemicals!

Unrefined Raw Shea Butter is a slightly yellowish-colored fat extracted from the nut of the African shea tree.  Shea butter is often used for stretch mark prevention during pregnancy, fighting the effects of aging, repairing rough damaged skin, treating dry skin and eczema, treating minor burns, relieving pain from swelling and arthritis, improving muscle relaxation and stiffness, as a sunscreen, treating dark spots/skin discolorations/blemishes, and healing diaper rashes.

Beeswax has emollient, soothing, and softening properties, which help the skin retain moisture, making it beneficial cosmetically.  It’s also great in skincare products because it acts as a thickening agent (because it turns into a semi-solid substance when it comes into contact with air), emulsifier, and humectant.  After processing, beeswax remains a biologically active product retaining anti-bacterial properties. It also contains vitamin A, which is essential for human cell development.  So, it’s great as an antiseptic and for healing wounds.

Grapeseed oil/Almond oil have a supporting role in this lotion recipe, but they also tout many great skin supporting properties like being high in essential fatty acids, antioxidants, and Vitamins A and E.  Their natural composition makes them great choices for moisturizing skin as well as helping prevent fine lines, wrinkles, and aging spots.

Essential oils have a wide variety of skin supporting properties.  If you choose to use essential oils, you can select them based on scent preferences AND/OR based on their skin supporting properties.  There’s a great reference chart here on selecting oils to relieve dry, sensitive, oily, or acne prone skin as well as to support better elasticity and wrinkles.

Budget

Lotions can cost as little as $1 for 8 ounces ($0.13 per ounce).  The cheapest “all natural” lotions will cost more.  The lotion bar presented here costs about $4.82 for 9.6 ounces ($0.50 per ounce).  The lotion bar presented hear costs more than the cheapest lotion you’ll be able to find at the Dollar Store or X-Mart; however, it’s comparable price-wise to the “all-natural” varieties you’ll find in your local health food store or on Amazon.  AND, in my opinion, it works better!  Plus, you’ll know what the ingredients are, where they came from, and have the ability to tailor the scent and properties to your taste and preferences!

Leave a Reply

