Perfect Lip Balm

Spring and summer, wind and heat, are approaching and we need to arm our bags and purses with lip balm.  While, I admit I don’t use as much lip balm as I should; I am still pretty picky about its texture, applicability, and feel.  I haven’t been overly impressed with store bought varieties, and given all the homemade recipes I’ve seen on Pinterest and that my friends have been making, I decided to make some.  I began with this post by Marie Rayma at Humble Bee & Me, but since I can never seem to follow a recipe as it’s written the first time, I tweaked it a little.  I’m sure her original recipe is fantastic as written, but I wanted you to have the one I actually made.  I’ve been very happy with this lip balm and I hope you are, too.

Making lip balm is very easy.  You’ll follow the same procedure I’ve outlined in the past two posts for lotion making (facial moisturizer and deep moisturizing (all body) lotion) by heating the oils together, mixing them, allowing them to cool, and pouring into tins.  If you’re scenting or coloring, add the essential oils and colorant/s after you melt the waxes, butters, and oils.  Be sure to use oil soluble colorants like mineral oxides or clays.  Water soluble colorants will not work.

Ingredients 

1.4 ounces Almond Oil (optionally, vanilla-infused)

0.9 ounce Coconut Oil

0.7 ounce Beeswax Pellets

0.5 ounce Cocoa Butter

0.5 ounce Raw Honey (optional)

0.1 ounce Vitamin E Oil

20-30 drops Essential Oil (optional)

1/8 tsp. Red Mineral Oxide (optional)

Pinch of Yellow Mineral Oxide (optional)

Preparation and Use

1.  Measure the almond oil, coconut oil, beeswax pellets, and cocoa butter into a sauce pan.  I usually place my saucepan directly on a kitchen scale to make the weighing/measuring easier.

lb_01lb_03

2.  Heat the mixture over LOW heat just until the beeswax melts.

lb_04lb_05

3.  Turn off the heat and add the raw honey, vitamin E oil, essential oils and/or colorants, if desired.  Feel free to leave it “bare” (without essential oils or colorants) if that’s your preference.  I generally like to use vanilla infused almond oil along with either sweet orange or peppermint essential oil to get a sweet orange vanilla or sweet peppermint vanilla lip balm.  Use your imagination though.  Add any colorants if you’re tinting your lip balm and combine well.

Note: To make vanilla infused almond oil, chop a vanilla bean and place in a 4 ounce glass jar.  Pour almond oil within 1/4″ of the top of the jar.  Place the jar in a saucepan or a crockpot.  Fill the saucepan or crockpot within 1/4″ of the top of the glass jar.  Heat on low for 2-3 days, refilling the pan/pot with water as necessary.  After 2-3 days, line a colander with cheesecloth, a paper towel, or a coffee filter and place over another jar.  Pour your vanilla infused oil through the filter to collect the vanilla beans on top and the infused oil in the jar beneath.

4.  Carefully, pour the warm/hot liquid into a lip balm container. There are lots of options out there: tin jars, white plastic jars, clear plastic jars, or standard lip balm tubes. My personal preference is for the tin jars, but you can use whatever you like.

5.  Allow the lotion to cool completely before placing the lid on the container.

PLB  Coral Lip Balm

6.  Clean your dishes with hot, soapy water.

Science

I’ve written about the science behind these ingredients when I told you about my Deep Moisturizing All Body Lotion, so I won’t go over it again here.

Budget

Lip balms can cost as little as $0.50 to $1.00 per tube/tin.  The cheapest “all natural” lip balms I’ve seen start at $2.00 per tube.  The lip balm presented here costs about $0.24 per tube.  The lip balm presented here costs less than the cheapest you’ll be able to find almost anywhere else.  It’s so easy, I’m sure it took me less than 10 or 20 minutes to make a batch.  For the next few posts in my homemade beauty series, I’m going to feature a wonderful, moisturizing lipstick/rouge and mascara, so I hope you’ll stay tuned for those.

Leave a Reply

